Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼


European Commission: EU Prize for Women Innovators 2019

End of application Phase: 16 January 2019

Carlos Moedas, Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, and Věra Jourová, Commissioner for Justice, Consumers and Gender Equality, launched the 2019 EU Prize for Women Innovators at the Web Summit in Lisbon.

What is the EU Prize for Women Innovators?

This is a cash prize awarded every year to European women who founded a successful company and brought an innovation to market.

Why is there a prize?

Women are underrepresented in terms of creating innovative enterprises. This is untapped potential for Europe, which needs to optimise all available resources to remain competitive and find solutions to our societal challenges.This award recognises the role of women in bringing about game-changing innovations to market and honours the outstanding achievements of female entrepreneurs running innovative companies.
The prize will be awarded to up to 4 women innovators in total, who have had the largest impact on the innovation ecosystem by transforming ideas into new and advanced products and/ services for the benefit of European citizens. 

Prize value

3 prizes of €100,000 each
Rising Innovator (35 or younger): €50,000
The award also recognises a number of finalists specially acknowledged for their outstanding record as women entrepreneurs and innovators.

Who can apply?

The contest is open to women from across the EU and countries associated to Horizon 2020, who have founded a successful company and brought innovation to market

Award criteria

breakthrough innovation – the company  funded / co-funded  by  the  contestant  provides a cutting edge product or service impact – the cutting edge product or service brings major benefits to citizens and society and the economy inspiration – the contestant has shown active leadership, her role has influenced the success of the company and has the potential to inspire others Applications are judged by a panel of independent experts from across Europe.

Further information can be found here.