Direkt zum InhaltDirekt zur SucheDirekt zur Navigation
▼ Zielgruppen ▼

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Adlershof Thesis Award

Since 2002, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, IGAFA (Initiative of Non-University Research Institutes in Adlershof) and WISTA Management GmbH annualy award the Dissertation Prize Adlershof which includes prize money of 3,000 €. The target group are all junior researchers who did their thesis in Adlershof and completed it with a predicate of at least “very good” (magna cum laude). In a live competition, three candidates at a time compete which each other. The nominee that presents her or his topic in the liveliest and most comprehensible way, wins the prize.


Awarding of the Adlershof thesis award (Dissertationspreis Adlershof) for 2018:

Tuesday, 12 February 2019, 3:00 p.m.

Erwin Schrödinger-Zentrum, Rudower Chaussee 26, 12489 Berlin




Welcome address


Prof. Dr. Peter A. Frensch
Vice President for Research of the Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin


Prof. Dr. Ulrich Panne
President of the Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und -prüfung


Short presentations by the nominees


Dr. Ignacio Barros

did his doctorate under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Gavras Farkas, Department of Mathematics, HU Berlin


Dr. Fabian Dahms

did his doctorate under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Thomas Elsässer, Department of Physics, HU Berlin / Max-Born-Institute


Dr. Martin Maier

did his doctorate under the supervision of Prof. Rasha Abdel Rahman, Institute of Psychology, HU Berlin


Jury session / music performance


Prize giving ceremony




Previous laureates:

2017 Dr. Raul Garcia Diez, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, Technische Universität Berlin
2016 Dr. Franziska Fischer, Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing / Department of Chemistry, HU
2015 Dr. Jan Ferenc Kischkat, Department of Physics, HU and Dr. Neysha Lobo-Ploch, Ferdinand Braun Institute, Leibniz Institute for Ultra-high Frequency Technology
2014 Dr. Markus Krutzik, Department of Physics, HU
2013 Dr. Martin Hempel, Max Born Institute / HU
2012 Dr. Charlotte Giesen, Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing/ HU
2011 Dr. Michael Högele, Department of Mathematics, HU
2010 Dr. Michael Barth, Department of Physics, HU
2009 Dr. Robert Gaschler, Department of Psychology, HU
2008 Dr. Emad Flear Aziz, Helmholtz Centre Berlin for Materials and Energy
2007 Dr. Stefan Roggan, Department of Chemistry, HU
2006 Dr. Guido Dornhege, Fraunhofer FIRST
2005 Dr. Stefan Ankirchner, Department of Mathematics, HU
2004 Dr. Roland Mitric, Department of Chemistry, HU
2003 Dr. Christoph Böhme, Hahn Meitner Institute
2002 Dr. Peter Portius, Department of Chemistry, HU
Faculty members are kindly asked to submit their proposals (with a statement, informal) for the Dissertation Prize Adlershof each year until 1st November to the Science office of IGAFA e. V., Rudower Chaussee 17, 12489 Berlin. Theses from the past 18 months are taken into consideration. The application should include an expressive evaluation of the work, which emphasises its commendableness.