Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin | Research | Excellent Research | Research Projects | Alexander von Humboldt Professorships

Alexander von Humboldt Professorships

The Alexander von Humboldt Professorship is the most highly funded German science prize. It is awarded to top researchers from abroad nominated by German universities who are world leaders in their field. The prize money amounts to up to five million euros for the first five years and is awarded by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and financed by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).


Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung


2010 Philip van der Eijk, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin – Classics
2011 Dirk Kreimer, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin – Mathematical physics
2015 Sharon Jeanette Macdonald, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin in collaboration with the Stiftung Preußischer Kulturbesitz (Prussian Cultural Heritage Foundation) and the Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin – Cultural Anthropology / Museology
2018 Arno Rauschenbeutel, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin – Quantum optics / Atomic physics



This program is financed by


back to the beginning